home
image

Bleak House Museum

Restoration began on the Bleak House in 1985 and three years later it was opened to the general public. Today it stands as a museum and retells the history of Fogo, the people, the culture and the lifestyle. In particular, it displays artifacts that represent the differentiation between the upper and lower class of the 19th century. The Bleak House Museum is open from July to September.

P.O. Box 57
Fogo, NL
A0G 2B0
Tel#: 709-226-2487

image

Brimstone Head

Recognized as being one of the four corners of the world by the Flat Earth Society, Brimstone Head has attracted visitors from around the world. On site there is a walking trail that winds up the mountain and offers a panoramic view of the ocean and surrounding islands. Located on the base of the trail is Brimstone Head trailer park. Brimstone Head is also the site of the Brimstone Head Folk Festival. Situated in the centre of Fogo.

Situated in the centre of Fogo
image

Newfoundland Pony Refuge

In an effort to raise the numbers of the endangered Newfoundland ponies, Change Islands have developed and maintained the Change Islands Newfoundland Pony Refuge. The Newfoundland Ponies housed at the refuge are owned by either the refuge or a local owner. The purpose is to maintain a high quality breeding program and increase the number of Newfoundland Ponies, an important symbol of Newfoundland history.

Newfoundland Pony Refuge
Change Islands, NL
A0G 1R0
Tel#: 709-621-4400

image

Dwyer Fishing Premises

In addition to being recognized as a National Historic Site of Canada, Tilting has also been recognized as having the Dwyer Fishing Premises. Essentially, this is a selection of family based buildings that were built in the 1870’s. These premises consist of a house, store, stage, wharf and a network of flakes. The Dwyer Fishing Premises have been noted and awarded for preserving the fishing heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador. They are open from July to September.

Located on the Eastern side of Tilting

image

Fogo Battery

The Fogo Battery was used to protect Fogo in the 1700’s. Located on site are six cannons, a hiking trail, telescopes, and a wooden platform in which visitors can take advantage of the scenic views of the ocean and surrounding islands. Take a hike to the top of Fogo Head 338ft above sea level, and enjoy the views of whales, birds, and icebergs.

Situated in the town of Fogo

image

Fogo Change Islands Adventure Boat Tours

Fogo Island and Change Islands Adventure Boat Tours has two certified boats in operation. Weekly service has been provided between Fogo Island and Change Islands. Departures four times a day from The Burgundy Squid Café in Change Islands and the Ferry Terminal Wharf on Fogo Island. The scenic tours include, whale watching tours, icebergs, sunset cruises or puffin cruises. Also located on the boat is Cog Jigger Crafts. A store which has a wide selection of local hand made crafts.

Fogo Change Islands Adventure Boat Tours
302 Anspach Street
St. John’s, NL
A1E 4M4
Tel#:709-627-3219/368-7571
Fax#:709-627-3519
www.fogotours.com

image

Fogo Marine Info Centre

The Fogo Island Marine Information Centre was a Fisherman’s Union Trading Company. Today the building has been fully restored and acts as a museum and information centre. The museum contains a large number of artifacts which depict historical events. Located on site are docking for a number of boats, picnic areas, craft shop, laundry facilities and bathroom facilities. The Fogo Island Marine Information Centre is open from May to October

P.O. Box 70
Seldom, NL
A0G 3Z0
Tel#: 709-627-3366

image

Lane House Museum

Believed to be the oldest house in Tilting, the Lane Museum now stands to represent the history of the community. Located within each room of the Lane House is a collection of artifacts from various families that have lived within the community. The Museum won the 1997 Southcott award for heritage restoration. Tourists can visit the Lane House Museum during the summer months. They are open from July to September.

Located on the North Side of Tilting

image

Marconi Station

The Marconi Station Ruins are located in the hills overlooking the town of Fogo. In 1887, the first telegram was sent from the Marconi Station and in 1912 it picked up the S.O.S from the Titanic before the ship went under. The station was in operation until 1933 and today it stands as a major point of interest for both tourists and locals alike.

Located on the hills overlooking the Town of Fogo

image

Olde Shoppe Museum

Located in the heart of Change Islands, the Olde Shoppe Museum provides visitors with a wealth of information about the history, culture and lifestyle of the people of Change Islands in the 19th and 20th century. A number of artifacts are located on site including a spinning wheel, hand made tools, period furniture, items from both World War I and World War II, and a silent projector. The Olde Shoppe Museum is open from June to September.

Olde Shoppe Museum
P.O. Box 34
Change Islands, NL
A0G 1R0
Tel#:709-621-4541

image

School House Museum

The School House Museum was built in 1988 and is located on Silver Street in the town of Fogo. As one the first Roman Catholic Schools in Newfoundland, today it is one of the few that remain standing. The school has been restored to its original state and visitors from around the world have come to visit and observe a Roman Catholic school setting as it existed years ago. The School House Museum is open from July to September.

School House Museum
P.O. Box 57
Fogo, NL
A0G 2B0
Tel#:709-266-2237
Fax#:709-266-2487

image

Stages And Stores

Stages and Stores is a heritage foundation whose primary focus is to preserve the history of Change Islands through a restoration process throughout the island. A number of wharfs, homes and buildings have been restored in an effort to maintain the look and feel of Change Islands from years ago. In addition, Stages and Stores offers a selection of traditional Newfoundland arts and crafts both online as well as in the Burgundy Squid Cafe and Craft Shoppe.

80 Waverley Street
Ottawa, On
K2P 0V2
Tel#:709-621-5555/(613)233-9179
www.stagesandstores.com

image

The Burgundy Squid Cafe And Craft Shop

The Burgundy Squid Cafe and Craft Shop is a 100 year old fishing stage located in the centre of Change Islands. Offering guests a wide selection of teas, coffees, soups, sandwiches, muffins, and cookies along with many more desserts. As well they have become a licensed establishment therefore alcoholic beverages such as wines and beer are offered. A unique craft shop is also situated in the building which offers visitors a wide selection of local hand made arts, crafts, knits, and photography. The Burgundy Squid Cafe and Craft Shop is open during the summer months.

School House Museum
P.O. Box 99
Change Islands, NL
A0G 1R0
Tel#: 709-621-5555
Fax#: 613-233-7088
www.stagesandstores.com

image

Tilting National Historic Site

Established as a National Historic Site of Canada, tilting was the first provincially registered heritage district. The town offers visitors a chance to explore the community as it existed years ago. The Lane House Museum, The Dwyer Premises, Reardon’s Island, Turpin’s Trail, Bunker Hill, Sandy Cove Beach, traditional Newfoundland Ponies, Oliver’s Cove, Keefe’s Stage, and the Old Irish Cemetery are some of the major points of interest.

Tilting National Historic Site
P.O. Box 40
Tilting, NL
A0G 4H0
Tel#: 709-658-7236
Fax#: 709-658-7239
www.townoftilting.com

For More Information, please feel free to contact the Gander and Area Chamber of Commerce:

Tel: 709-256-7110
E-mail: ganderchamber@ganderchamber.nf.ca
home